The 43rd March to Gridiron Greatness Continues: The Seven Blocks of Granite Houston, October 31, 2012 - The Rotary Club of Houston today announced the collegiate football players who have been selected as this year’s “Seven Blocks of Granite” and, accordingly, are the seven semi-finalists for the 43rd Rotary Lombardi Award. The 43rdSeven Blocks of Granite are:

Arthur Brown Kansas State University Linebacker
Jadeveon Clowney University of South Carolina Defensive End
Barrett Jones University of Alabama Offensive Lineman
Jarvis Jones University of Georgia Outside Linebacker
Damontre Moore Texas A&M University Defensive Lineman
Sam Montgomery Louisiana State University Defensive End
Manti Te’o Notre Dame University Inside Linebacker

  The “Seven Blocks of Granite” was the immortal nickname given to Fordham University’s famous offensive lines of the 1930s, of which Vince Lombardi was a 1936 member. The semi-finalists for the Rotary Lombardi Award are similarly dubbed the seven blocks of granite. The Rotary Lombardi Award committee will announce the four finalists on November 17, 2012.   About the Rotary Lombardi Award: Established in 1970, the Rotary Lombardi Award has raised millions of dollarsto help support cancer research, public education and direct services to cancer patients. The tradition of service about self – the Rotary motto - continues this year. The 43rd Rotary Lombardi Award show will be held December 5, 2012, at the Hobby Center in Houston, Texas and is part of a two-day schedule of events. For more information on the two-day schedule of events and ticket opportunities, please visit and follow the March to Gridiron Greatness on Twitter at @RotaryLombardiAward and on Facebook at National College Football Awards Association: The Rotary Lombardi Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website, Rotary Lombardi Award Contacts: Rick Slemaker, Programs Chairperson Steve Vetrano, Administration and Finance Chairperson This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Yvette Scheiber, Public Relations Chairperson This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.